E3 2014: It may be downloadable, but Dance Central: Spotlight is packed with features

Written by: / / No Comments

With Dance Central and the upcoming Fantasia: Music Evolved, Harmonix is arguably the world’s greatest developer of Kinect-driven motion games as the team is able to identify the strengths and weaknesses of the motion tracking technology, and craft experiences that side-step issues of accuracy and complex input with incredibly fun games the result.

Other than Fantasia, it’s been a while since we’ve heard more from the Dance Central series, so the announcement of the downloadable Dance Central: Spotlight for Xbox One and Kinect was a welcome one.


Due for release in September on Xbox LIVE, Dance Central: Spotlight will include ten songs to start you off, with over fifty more tracks to be released following launch. Spotlight will support up to two players at once, and if you’re familiar with the core dance choreography-based gameplay, you’ll be comfortable enough to switch things up with eight dance routines to try per song to maximise your enjoyment of each track.

A voice activated practice mode will also feature in Dance Central: Spotlight, along with a new fitness mode that includes dance routines that focus on strength and cardio workouts. The first ten songs in Spotlight include:

– “Wake Me Up” – Avicii
– “Talk Dirty” – Jason Derulo ft. 2 Chainz
– “Show Me” – Kid Ink ft. Chris Brown
– “Counting Stars” – OneRepublic
– “Happy” – Pharrell Williams

… and, of course, many more to be announced.

Watch the debut trailer for Dance Central: Spotlight below:

Dance Central: Spotlight – E3 2014 Trailer

Follow El33tonline’s continued coverage of E3 2014 for all of the biggest announcements from the show.

Tags: , , , , ,