News

US PlayStation Network maintenance and downtime expected soon

Written by: / / No Comments

PlayStation Network Logo

Have you heard of the ‘PlayStation Digital Platforms Community Management’ team? Don’t worry if you haven’t, because according to senior manager Matthew Harper, it’s a recently-formed group which holds itself to the following goal:

“Our mission is to keep you better informed about everything that is going on in the wide world of the PlayStation Network, to make your voice heard within the company, and to ensure that you, the gamer, are at the heart of every development across PSN.”

It’s first duty? To let PlayStation Network browsers in the US know that the service will be down tomorrow, April 16th.

Routine scheduled maintenance on the US PSN will begin at 6:00 am PDT / 9:00 am EDT and last roughly 13 hours, ending at around 7:00pm PDT / 10:00 pm EDT.

“During much of this time,” writes Harper, “users won’t be able to access the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, Account Management or play online. PSN enabled websites will not be able to service users, including this one.”

We can’t see if a similar maintenance period is planned for the European PSN, but the two regions usually follow one another so perhaps you should expect some downtime later this week, Euro friends.

Source: US PlayStation Blog


Tags: , , , ,