Red Dead Redemption and Minecraft dominate Game Developers Choice Awards

Written by: / / No Comments

Game Developers Choice AwardsFollowing on from the Independent Games Festival Awards on Wednesday evening last week, the ceremony rolled right into the prestigious Game Developers Choice Awards, an event that aims to recognise the very best accomplishments in the world of videogames.

The games chosen to receive an award at the Game Developers Choice Awards (and development teams behind these titles) this year included Red Dead Redemption from Rockstar, Minecraft from Mojang (continuing its winning ways from the IGF Awards), Mass Effect 2 and Limbo ‒ but only one game could be crowned ‘Game of the Year’…

The full list of winners at this year’s Game Developers Choice Awards is as follows:

Best Audio:

  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar Games)

Best Debut Game:

  • Minecraft (Mojang)

Best Writing:

  • Mass Effect 2 (BioWare)

Best Game Design:

  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar Games)

Best Downloadable Game:

  • Minecraft (Mojang)

Best Visual Art:

  • Limbo (Playdead Studios)

Best Technology:

  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar Games)

Best Handheld Game:

  • Cut the Rope (Chillingo)

Innovation Award:

  • Minecraft (Mojang)

Game of the Year:

  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar Games)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Peter Molyneux

Pioneer Award

  • Yu Suzuki

Ambassador Award

  • Tim Brengle and Ian MacKenzie

You can watch the event unfold in the full IGF Awards/Game Developers Choice Awards video below:

GDC 2011 IGF and GDC Awards

Tags: , , , ,